Making Democracy Work
Awards Ceremony & Cocktail Reception
Monday, May 23, 2022 | 5:30PM - 8:30 PM
The Boathouse at Mercer Lake
334 South Post Road, West Windsor, NJ 08550
Please join the League of Women Voters of New Jersey as we gather in-person to celebrate over 100 years of empowering voters and defending democracy. Proceeds from this reception will be used to advance our vision of a democracy where every person has the desire, the right, the knowledge, and the confidence to participate.

RSVP by Sunday, May 15
Purchase Tickets!
Making Democracy Work Awards
We will present our prestigious Making Democracy Work Award to individuals and organizations who demonstrate an extraordinary commitment to improving our democracy. Please join us to celebrate our honorees.
The Honorable Loretta Weinberg
Member of the NJ Legislature, 1992-2022
The Honorable Philip S. Carchman
11th Member of the New Jersey Legislative Apportionment Commission
Rutgers' Eagleton Institute of Politics Redistricting Interns
Students who Advocated for Fair Districts and Served the Redistricting Commissions
Palestinian American Community Center
Non-profit who Advocated for Arab American Representation in the Census and Redistricting
Janice Caldwell
League of Women Voters of Lawrence Township
Learn More About the Honorees:
Florence Peshine Eagleton Sponsors
Ingrid W. Reed in honor of Nancy Hedinger, former president of the League of Women Voters of New Jersey
Ida B. Wells-Barnett Sponsors
Hedinger & Lawless, L.L.C
Glorianne and Anthony Robbi
Senate Majority Leader M. Teresa Ruiz
Susan S. Lederman in honor of Nancy Hedinger
Adelina Otero-Warren Sponsors
Willard Alonzo Stanback PC
Cape & Capital Real Estate LLC
Lafayette West LLC
State House Sponsors
Senator Vin Gopal
Senator Gordon Johnson
Senator Declan O'Scanlon
Senator Nellie Pou
Senator Teresa Ruiz
Senator Troy Singleton
Senator Joseph F. Vitale
Senator Andrew Zwicker
Assembly Speaker Craig Coughlin
Assemblyman Thomas P. Giblin
Assemblywoman Shama Haider
Assemblywoman Sadaf Jaffer
Assemblywoman Yvonne Lopez
Assemblywoman Ellen Park
Jessica Backofen
Rite Barone
‍Ellen Kemp
Sandra and John Matsen
Anne Poole
Local League Sponsors
League of Women Voters of the Greater New Brunswick Area
League of Women Voters of the Morristown Area
League of Women Voters of Southern Monmouth
League of Women Voters of Bergen County
League of Women Voters of Monroe Township
League of Women Voters of Mountain Lakes
League of Women Voters of Lawrence Township
Please contact Natalie Harrington, Development Manager of the League of Women Voters of New Jersey at or view our available Sponsorship Opportunities.
Purchase Tickets!
Getting to The Boathouse
Directions to the Boathouse
Find on Google Maps